Terafab will reportedly receive its first ASML EUV tool in mid-2027 - Tom's Hardware

Chip Manufacturing

Terafab Lines Up First ASML EUV Tool for Mid-2027 Delivery

Terafab will reportedly receive its first ASML EUV lithography tool in mid-2027, fixing the earliest window for advanced-node work at the site.

By
Tom Whitfield
Filed
Channel
Chip Manufacturing
Read
2 min read

Terafab will reportedly take delivery of its first ASML extreme ultraviolet (EUV) lithography tool in mid-2027, according to a report relayed by Tom's Hardware. The date matters because it fixes the earliest point at which the fab could begin processing wafers on advanced nodes that require EUV exposure. Until the tool arrives, is installed and passes qualification, any EUV-class production at the site remains a roadmap item rather than a capacity figure.

EUV scanners are the gating equipment for leading-edge logic and advanced memory. ASML is the sole supplier, and its High-NA systems list at roughly $380 million per unit; standard EUV tools cost in the hundreds of millions as well. A delivery slot in mid-2027 therefore signals two things at once: a firm place in ASML's order queue, and a fab owner willing to commit capital several years ahead of first output.

What does a mid-2027 delivery slot imply?

The timing suggests that Terafab's owners expect construction and cleanroom fit-out to be far enough along by late 2027 to accept a scanner. Installation of an EUV tool typically takes months, followed by process qualification with photoresists, masks and metrology. First commercial exposure usually follows the delivery date by two to four quarters, though the report does not state Terafab's qualification schedule.

A mid-2027 slot also places the fab inside the current EUV generation rather than the High-NA generation that Intel and TSMC are now bringing online. The report does not specify which ASML model Terafab ordered.

Why one tool is a milestone, not a capacity number

A single EUV scanner does not define output. Leading-edge fabs run dozens of scanners in parallel; a first unit mainly marks the transition from construction to process bring-up. Investors reading this report should treat mid-2027 as an equipment milestone, not a wafer-start or revenue figure.

No confirmed capacity, node or investment figures for the Terafab project appear in the report. Analysts and trade press have speculated about the project's scope, but the delivery date stands as the one concrete datapoint on record.

Supply chain and competitive context

ASML's EUV backlog stretches for years, and export controls govern where the company may ship its most advanced tools. Any fab securing a mid-2027 slot has already cleared the commercial and, where applicable, regulatory hurdles that determine queue position. In plain terms, the order says more about the fab owner's standing with ASML than about market demand in 2027.

The takeaway: Terafab has a reported date, mid-2027, for its first EUV tool, and everything downstream — qualification, capacity and product — will hinge on whether that delivery holds.

Source: Google News: semiconductors

Share this article:

More from Tom Whitfield

Tom Whitfield

Show full bio

Staff writer covering companies, deals and strategy in Semiconductors, chip manufacturing, hardware, AI compute at Chip Dispatch.

480 articles

Related articles

« Previous articleNext article »